Running USA

Award Applications and Nominations


HOKA ONE ONE Northern Arizona EliteIt's the start of awards season and the applications for the Allan Steinfeld Development Award and the Youth Program Award are officially open. We're proud to have given nearly $175,000 in the past seven years to elite developmental programs across the country, while awarding $100,000 to youth programs in the past ten years. 


In addition, nominations are now being accepted for our annual Hall of Champions and Women's Trailblazer Award. Please send your nominations for these two in particular to Scott Bush at You must be a Running USA member in order to submit nominations


The Youth Program grant provides an award of $10,000 in 2017, while the Allan Steinfeld Development Award is worth $25,000.


Please review the criteria in each award application and send all submissions with the title of the award in the subject line to Bill Roe at by Friday, November 18, 2016 at 9pm EST. To review additional selection criteria, please visit:



Allan Steinfeld Development Award (PDF)

Youth Program Award (PDF) - Youth Program Award applicants must be Running USA members to be considered


The Awards and Past Winners

Allan Steinfled Development Award

Youth Program Award

Hall of Champions

Women's Trailblazer Award


Allan Steinfeld Development Award

Post-college, many of our most talented American runners are faced with a difficult decision. Do they continue to run at the highest level, and attempt a professional career? It may be a dream they’ve held since childhood. But without support from a team, sponsor or family, the fiscal realities of chasing that dream can be daunting.


The Allan Steinfeld Development Award, a grant established by non-profit Running USA, is now in its seventh year. The $25,000 training group development award was named after Allan Steinfeld, a long-time leader in the sport, who jump-started the U.S. distance running resurgence as head of the New York Road Runners. 


Youth Program Award

Running USA will award one $10,000 youth program grant at its 2017 Running USA Industry Conference. Funding is provided exclusively by donations. Support today’s youth runners and programs  that introduce them to a sport they will love for a lifetime. Youth Program Award applicants must be Running USA members to be considered.


Hall of Champions

In every sport, the champions are always the victorious athletes, but if there were no events, there would be no medalists. Entry to the Running USA Hall of Champions is reserved for those wonderful people who with devotion, vision, and commitment built the sport and provided glory for the winners and a place to excel for everyone.

The criteria for election to the Running USA Hall of Champions continue to be “written” by the accomplishments of the people selected to the classes of its first few years. Each honoree has served Running with many years of dedication, imagination, distinction, courage, and selflessness. Each has made a contribution that has enhanced the sport, made it more compelling and rewarding, and this award acknowledges and recognizes their noteworthy contribution to the sport. To-date, 46 people from twelve classes are Hall of Champions members.


Women's Trailblazer Award

This award goes to a woman who has been a leader and a pioneer in the sport and has served the sport with distinction, furthering not only the support and accomplishments of women in the industry, but the running industry as a whole. In other words, a trailblazer. 


Valued Partners :