Running USA’s annual awards in recognition of outstanding contributions to the running industry are announced each year at the organization’s annual Industry Conference. In 2022, the Industry Conference presented by Race Roster is set for Orlando, Florida, from Feb. 20-22.

2022 awards nominations are due by Friday, Dec. 10.

Hall of Champions

The Running USA Hall of Champions recognizes the leaders who have made the sport and business of road running the successful and beloved industry it is today. An honor reserved for those who have given their time, energy and passion to improving the sport in new directions.

Past honorees

Criteria for Selection
Hall of Champions nominees should have significant accomplishments as an entrepreneur, executive, contributor, athlete, owner, or volunteer or other role that has supported road running as a business and have been or be currently involved with Running USA.

Nominate a potential 2022 Hall of Champions inductee.

Awards of Excellence


The Running USA Awards of Excellence will be handed out for the first time at the 2022 Industry Conference. Awards of Excellence will recognize outstanding contributions, initiative, leadership or innovation in the running industry. Honorees can be individuals or a group, program or organization and should be demonstrably driving positive change in the industry.


Criteria for Selection
Nominees can be individuals or a group, program or organization. Nominators will be asked to describe their outstanding contributions, initiative, leadership or unique innovation that has positively influenced the running industry. Two honorees will be selected, so multiple nominations are welcome.

Nominate a potential 2022 Award of Excellence recipient.

Women’s Leadership Award

This award goes to a woman who has been a leader and a pioneer in the sport and has served the sport with distinction, furthering not only the support and accomplishments of women in the industry, but the running industry as a whole.

Past honorees

Criteria for Selection

The criteria for selection is written submissions by Running USA members, noting the accomplishments of potential honorees within the running industry. The Running USA Awards Committee considers each submission, then selects the individual to honor at the upcoming Running USA Industry Conference.

Nominate a 2022 Women’s Leadership award candidate.

Youth Program Award

The Running USA Youth Program Award provides a $10,000 award to one youth program each year at the Running USA Industry Conference. The Youth Program Award goes to a program which advocates the benefits of youth running, collaborates to combat obesity and supports family and youth health initiatives.

Past Honorees

Criteria for Selection

Each youth program that wishes to apply must complete the annual application and submit it to the committee for consideration. Programs can only be considered if they are Running USA members.

*The Youth Award will return in 2023.

Allan Steinfeld Development Award

The $25,000 Running USA training group development award was named after Allan Steinfeld, a long-time leader in the sport, who jump-started the U.S. distance running resurgence as head of the New York Road Runners.

The Allan Steinfeld Development Award supported one post-collegiate distance running training group each year, and was presented from 2010 to 2018. Steinfeld, a member of the Running USA Hall of Champions, passed away in 2017.