Runners include a NASA astronaut, a Hollywood actor, multiple Boston Marathon champions, and several Olympians


Boston (July 7, 2020) — DMSE Sports today announced the formation of two celebrity teams who are participating in the Medford2Medford Run Across America. Two teams of national and local celebrities have been virtually following in Dave McGillivray’s footsteps along the course he ran during his 1978 cross-America run from Medford, OR, to Medford, MA.

Registration for Medford2Medford is still open at and will remain open through the ceremonial end of the event on August 29.

The list of celebrities for the summer-long virtual event includes American NASA astronaut Sunita Williams; actor Sean Astin (of Rudy and Lord of the Rings); 2014 Boston Marathon Champion Meb Keflezighi; Pete Kostelnick, the record-holder for cross-America running; Lisa Bentley, 11-Time Ironman Champion; and Mark Allen and Dave Scott, both 6-Time Champions of the Ironman Triathlon World Championships.

A few years ago, Dave McGillivray brought back the “Celebrity Mile” from running events in the Greater Boston area after a 32-year absence, and this year’s virtual edition is a twist on that theme. A complete list of the celebrities who are participating is included at the bottom of the release.

Participating celebrities also include Max Lane, former New England Patriots offensive lineman; Karen Smyers, Ironman Triathlon world champion; and Michael Wardian and Becca Pizzi, World Marathon Challenge champions.

The celebrity field will also feature its share of running industry legends, such as Deena Kastor, 2004 Olympics Bronze Medal for the women’s marathon; Joan Benoit Samuelson, Olympic Gold Medalist and two-time Boston Marathon champion; Leo Manzano, 2012 Olympic Silver Medalist for the 1,500 meters; and four-time Boston Marathon champion Bill Rogers, who’ll be joined by his peers Greg Meyer (1983), Amby Burfoot (1968), and Jack Fultz (1976).


“Although we’re unable to enjoy the ‘Celebrity Mile’ in person because of the pandemic, it’s been fun to bring together athletes from across the country, whether they’re marathon champions or TV personalities,” said Dave McGillivray, president of DMSE Sports and the inspiration for the M2M. “I’m thrilled to see the interest and enthusiasm displayed by so many of our celebrity participants and it has been inspiring to follow them as they accumulate their miles and add to the overall team totals. I am so grateful they’ve joined us on this virtual adventure. Maybe someday we will rent a motorhome and run the real thing together!”


Medford2Medford is a virtual team running event that strives to bring fellow runners together while they’re apart, and to help raise some much-needed funds for charities. The M2M is modeled after Dave McGillivray’s 1978 run from Medford, OR, to Medford, MA. Over the course of 80 days, McGillivray ran 3,452 miles and raised more than $100,000 for the Jimmy Fund, a Boston-based charity that supports the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute. The event welcomes walkers, runners, and cyclists to team up to complete one of three distances.


About DMSE Sports


Founded by Dave McGillivray in 1981, DMSE Sports is a leader in sports event management, specializing in creating and producing mass participatory athletic events throughout the U.S. and abroad. DMSE works with the B.A.A. operations team in overseeing all the logistics and technical operations of the B.A.A. Boston Marathon and manages the TD Beach to Beacon 10K in Maine, the New Balance Falmouth Road Race on Cape Cod, the lululemon San Diego 10K, and the Bellin Run in Green Bay, Wisconsin, among others. For additional information about DMSE Sports, visit or find DMSE on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.




●Meb Keflezighi, 2014 Boston Marathon Champion; 4-Time Olympian


●Sean Astin, Actor


●Sunita Williams, American Astronaut


●Joan Benoit Samuelson, Olympic Gold Medalist; 2-Time Boston Marathon Champion


●Pete Kostelnick, Cross America Run Recorder Holder


●Lisa Bentley, 11-Time Ironman Champion


●Dave Scott, 6-Time Champion Ironman Triathlon World Championship


●Mark Allen, 6-Time Champion Ironman Triathlon World Championship


●Bill Rodgers, 4-Time Winner of the Boston Marathon and NYC Marathon


●Lisa Hughes, WBZ Ch. 4 Award-Winning News Anchor


●Deena Kastor, 2004 Olympics Bronze Medal Women’s Marathon


●Michael Wardian, World Marathon Challenge Champion; Ultra-Marathoner


●Tom Caron, Sportscaster New England Sports Network


●Jack Fultz, 1976 Boston Marathon Winner


●Rod Dixon, 1983 NYC Marathon Champion; 1972 Olympic Bronze


●Greg Meyer, 1983 Boston Marathon Champion


●Jamie Staton, Sports Anchor / Director at Channel 9, Manchester NH


●Dave McGillivray, Boston Marathon Race Director


●Leo Manzano, 2012 Olympic Silver Medalist 1,500 metres


●Tom O’Keefe, Voice behind Boston Tweet


●Amby Burfoot, 1968 Boston Marathon Winner; Runner’s World Writer


●Kathryn Switzer, 1967 First Official Female Entrant in Boston Marathon


●Mary Wittenberg, Former Race Director NYC Marathon and President of NYRR


●Alice Cook, Olympic Figure Skater


●Ruben Sança, 2012 Olympian (Cape Verde) – 5,000 metres


●Karen Smyers, Ironman Triathlon World Champion


●Steve Cooper, Ch. 7 News Reporter


●Becca Pizzi, World Marathon Challenge Champion


●John Young, Elite Little Person Paratriathlete/Marathoner


●Dick Hoyt, Father of Father-and-Son-Team Hoyt


●Max Lane, Former New England Patriots Offensive Lineman


●Bobby Carpenter, Former NHL All-Star Hockey Player


●Bart Yasso, Former Chief Running Officer – Runner’s World Magazine


●David Samson, Host – Nothing Personal; MLB Analyst – CBS Sports HQ; Former President – Miami Marlins (2002-2017)


●Dan Clark, Massachusetts State Trooper; The Singing Trooper


●Scott Brown, U.S. Ambassador to New Zealand; Former US Senator