Gold Medalist Matt Centrowitz to Make Debut in Falmouth Elite Mile 


FALMOUTH, Mass. – Two high-profile and highly-competitive women in distance running will headline the international elite field at next week’s ASICS Falmouth Road Race. Hellen Obiri and Emily Sisson, both making their Falmouth debut, will face off on the roads for the third time this year when they line up for the seven-mile race on Sunday, Aug. 20.

This year, Obiri has won half marathons in the United Arab Emirates and New York City before winning the Boston Marathon in April. Since her Boston victory, Obiri has also won the B.A.A 10K and was runner-up in the Mastercard New York Mini 10K. Last weekend, she won the Beach to Beacon 10K in Maine.

“The roads and the people of Massachusetts have been good to me so far this year,” said Obiri, a two-time world champion and two-time Olympic silver medalist for Kenya. “I know it will not be easy, but I hope I can keep my record going. It will be nice to test myself before I get back into my preparations for an autumn marathon.”

For Sisson, Falmouth is part of the build up to this fall’s Bank of America Chicago Marathon where she will attempt to lower her own American record of 2:18:29 in the event. This past January, she also set the American record in the half-marathon (since broken by Kiera D’Amato) and won the USATF 15km title for the third consecutive year.

“I have not had the chance to race Falmouth before, but I have wanted to ever since I started spending summers in New England,” said Sisson, a graduate of Providence College. “I’m excited for my first Falmouth Road Race to be in the build up to Chicago. I cannot wait to line up in a few weeks time!”

Other top contenders include 2021 Falmouth champion and last year’s runner-up Edna Kiplagat, U.S. 5K Champion Weini Kelati and reigning U.S. 10 Mile champion Fiona O’Keeffe.

Fresh off a victory at last week’s Beach to Beacon 10K in Maine, Addisu Yihune will attempt back-to-back New England wins. The 20-year-old Ethiopian leads the men’s field.

Last year’s third place finisher, David Bett is returning in 2023. Other contenders include 2022 Los Angeles Marathon champion John Korir, two-time Pittsburgh Half Marathon winner Wesley Kiptoo and 2019 NCAA Cross Country Champion Edwin Kurgat.

In the Wheelchair Division, sponsored by Spaulding Rehabilitation, Daniel Romachuk, who set the course record in 2019, will chase his fifth Falmouth win. He championed last year’s race by three and a half minutes over Hermin Garic, the 2021 Falmouth winner who is also returning this year.

In the women’s race, 2022 champion and course record holder Susannah Scaroni will defend her title. Scaroni has dominated the road circuit in 2023 winning the Boston Marathon, New York Mini 10K and AJC Peachtree Road Race in Atlanta. Scaroni will face 2021 women’s champion Emelia Perry and 2022 third place finisher Yen Hoang who won the B.A.A. 10K earlier this year.

The 51st running of the ASICS Falmouth Road Race is the culmination of an entire weekend of running that kicks off with the Falmouth Elite Mile, held this year on Friday evening for the first time. The women’s field is led by former Oregon standout Susan Ejore of Kenya and three-time NCAA Champion Dani Jones. It also includes Belmont, Massachusetts high school phenom Ellie Shea.

The men’s race will welcome the deepest men’s field in its history. Olympic gold medalist Matthew Centrowitz will make his first trip to Falmouth to toe the start line with some of the nation’s top middle-distance runners. Past winner Craig Engels also returns this year as does Seekonk, MA native Johnny Gregorek, a World Championship qualifier who won the Guardian Mile in Cleveland last month and Vince Ciattei who won last weekend’s Beale Street Mile in Memphis.

In the Wheelchair division, both Romanchuk and Garic will also compete as will Scaroni, Perry and Hoang in the women’s race.

“From the track to the roads, there is going to be exciting racing to witness all weekend in Falmouth,” said Jennifer Edwards, Executive Director of Falmouth Road Race, Inc. “It’s an honor to welcome so many legends and future legends of the sport who will lead our field of 10,000 to the finish line.”

The Falmouth Track Festival which includes the Falmouth Elite Mile will be held at 7 p.m. Friday, Aug. 18 at Falmouth High School. The ASICS Falmouth Road Race gets underway at 9 a.m. on Sunday, Aug. 20 with athletes running the traditional course starting in Woods Hole and ending at Falmouth Heights Beach.

For more information about the ASICS Falmouth Road Race, visit and follow the event on Facebook, Instagram, and YouTube.

ASICS Falmouth Road Race Women’s Elite Field 

Bridget Belyeu USA

Jessica Broderick USA

Marybeth Chelanga USA

Victoy Chepngeno KEN

Buze Diriba ETH

Jacqueline Gaughin USA

Elena Hayday USA

Emma Grace Hurley USA

Momoka Kawaguchi JAP

Weini Kelati USA

Everlyn Kemboi USA

Edna Kiplagat KEN

Kim Kreznoski CAN

Michelle Kreznoski CAN

Cynthia Limo KEN

Sophien Murray IRL

Fiona O’Keeffe USA

Hellen Obiri KEN

Bethany Sachtleben USA

Andrea Seccafien CAN

Emily Sisson USA

Betsy Suda USA

Taylor Werner USA

Michaela Wood USA

Yumi Yoshikawa JAP


ASICS Falmouth Road Race Men’s Elite Field

Andy Bayer USA

Zack Beavin USA

Joey Berritua USA

David Bett KEN

Sam Chelanga USA

Craig Curley USA

Patrick Diver USA

Ehab El Sandali CAN

Kirubel Erassa USA

Yemane Haileselassie ERI

Wesley Kiptoo Kiptoo KEN

John Korir Korir KEN

Edwin Kurgat KEN

Tim McGowan USA

Clint Mckelvey USA

Amanuel Mesel ERI

Ahmed Muhamed USA

Kaisei Sugiyama JAP

Haruto Wakabayashi JAP

Antonio Wilson USA

Conner Winter USA

Adam Wood USA

Addisu Yihune ETH

Clayton Young USA


ASICS Falmouth Road Race Women’s Wheelchair Division

Hannah Babalola NGA

Jenna Fesemyer USA

Yen Hoang USA

Emelia Perry USA

Susannah Scaroni USA

Madelyn Wilson USA


ASICS Falmouth Road Race Men’s Wheelchair Division 

Raphael Botsoyo GHA

Gary Brendel USA

Robert Costa USA

Matt Davis USA

Ulysses Elijah USA

Jason Fowler USA

Hermin Garic USA

Miguel Jimenez Vergara USA

Will Lehr USA

Delmace Mayo USA

Tony Nogueira USA/POR

Michael Olsen USA

Daniel Romanchuk USA

Krige Schabort USA


Falmouth Elite Mile Women’s Field 

Laurie Barton USA

Maddy Berkson USA

Allie Buchalski USA

Micaela DeGenero USA

Ella Donaghu USA

Susan Ejore KEN

Katie Izzo USA

Dani Jones USA

Michaela Meyer USA

Kate Mitchell USA

Helen Schlachtenhaufen USA

Kristie Schoffield USA

Ellie Shea USA

Katie Wasserman USA


Falmouth Elite Mile Men’s Field

Jack Anstey USA

Matthew Centrowitz USA

Vince Ciattei USA

Austen Dalquist USA

Craig Engels USA

Johnny Gregorek USA

Ollin Hacker USA

Drew Hunter USA

Amon Kemboi KEN

Festus Lagat KEN

Thomas Ratcliffe USA

David Ribich USA

Paul Ryan USA

Josh Thompson USA

Henry Wynne USA


Falmouth Elite Mile Women’s Wheelchair Division

Susannah Scaroni USA

Yen Hoang USA

Hannah Babalola NGR

Emelia Perry USA


Falmouth Elite Mile Men’s Wheelchair Division

Daniel Romanchuk USA

Hermin Garic USA

Delmace Mayo USA

Miguel Jimenez Vergara USA



The Falmouth Road Race was established in 1973 and has become one of the premier running events of the summer season. Each year the race draws an international field of Olympians, elite athletes, and recreational runners to enjoy the iconic 7-mile seaside course. The nonprofit Falmouth Road Race organization is committed to promoting health and fitness through community programs and philanthropic giving.