A course record was shattered, Stillwater came on strong and “Did You Beat the Gov?”

at the 22nd Annual Oklahoma City Memorial Marathon weekend. A field of more than 13,000 runners registered for the Memorial’s five races, Marathon, Half Marathon, Relay, 5K and Kids Marathon. The 5K and Kids Marathon races were run Saturday.


Both Marathon winners are from Stillwater, Oklahoma and at Oklahoma State University.

Women’s Marathon winner, McKale Montgomery, crushed the women’s course record by four minutes. McKale also won the 2013 Memorial Marathon (2:53:30) and has gotten even faster!  


Did you beat the Gov – in the Governor’s Relay Rally? The Governor’s law enforcement team finished the race at 4:35:26. All relay teams that beat that time will be mailed a special “I Beat the Gov” T-shirt.


Running legends, Joan Benoit Samuelson and Dick Beardsley joined this year’s Half Marathon. 64 year old Samuelson, a two-time Boston Marathon winner and the first women’s Olympic Marathon champion, finished with a 1:33:30. Dick Beardsley, a London Marathon winner, came in with a 2:08:54.


The Run to Remember is a race with a mission, to celebrate the lives of 168 people

killed in the Oklahoma City bombing on April 19, 1995.




Bryant Keirns, Stillwater, Oklahoma 2:24:51

Womens: McKale Montgomery, Stillwater, Oklahoma 2:41:06 *new women’s course record


Marathon Wheelchair: Glenn Pemberton, Mansfield, Texas 1:43:30


Half Marathon: Al Maeder, Oklahoma City 1:08:34

Womens: Kristi Coleman, Yukon, Oklahoma 1:17:47


Relay: OK Runner 2:28:37


5K: Luis Chaves, Edmond, Oklahoma 17:15

Womens: Natalie Duggan, Edmond, Oklahoma 19:38, 14 year old Edmond Santa Fe High School student


Photo credit: Oklahoma City Memorial Marathon