Barno, Dock, Korte to Be Officially Inducted Friday, June 16

(DULUTH, MINN.) — Elisha Barno, Dan Dock, and Barb Korte will all be inducted into the Grandma’s Marathon Hall of Fame as the Class of 2023, it was announced today.

The three-member class, being honored for making longstanding and meaningful contributions to the race and the community, will be officially enshrined during the Grandma’s Marathon Awards Luncheon at 12:00 p.m. on Friday, June 16 at The Garden Event Center.


Still the winningest men’s marathoner in race history, Barno enjoyed a streak of four straight victories at Grandma’s Marathon from 2015-18. His last title run of 2:10:06 still stands as the fourth-fastest men’s time ever in Duluth, trailing only Dominic Ondoro and Dick Beardsley.

Barno is the first athlete to enter the Hall of Fame since Amanda McGrory, who was part of the Class of 2017 after she won eight women’s wheelchair titles between 2007 to 2017.


Dock first started volunteering at the Grandma’s Marathon finish line nearly four decades ago and while his exact duties have changed over the years, his excitement to be part of a great community event has stayed the same.

“I can’t narrow it down to just a few favorite moments,” Dock admitted. “It’s been 37 years of wonderful memories. Every runner has a different path to Grandma’s Marathon and being at the finish line, I get to show up on race day and soak up all these different stories. This is a humbling honor, and I’m thankful to be included with all the great past Hall of Famers.”

Dock says his role in the early years was more labor-intensive with manual timing than it is today, but he’s been happy throughout his time to be part of the finish line crew. Whether it’s cheering as runners cross the finish line or being available to help those who are struggling, he says it’s a day he looks forward to each year.


Korte was a longtime Grandma’s Marathon Board member, being first elected in 1994 and twice serving as chairperson. Describing it as a working Board on which everyone had a role, Korte served many – she coordinated the spaghetti feed for several years and worked at the finish line on race day.

Maybe her biggest claim to fame, though, is helping to coordinate for more than two decades the annual cleanup of a section of the marathon’s racecourse along the Scenic Highway between Two Harbors and Duluth among other Board members.

“Running was my passion for many years,” she said. “I have made many friends and had lots of adventures thanks to running. I am proud to have served on the Board for so long and to have worked with others to make running more accessible to all ages in our community.”

With its three newest members, the Grandma’s Marathon Hall of Fame is now made up of 91 individuals, organizations, and municipalities, all of which have made great and lasting impacts on the race itself and the northern Minnesota community.


Class of 2022

Glenn Evavold

Jim Greenfield

Monica Halligan

Deb Pawlowicz

Rick Recker

Dick Skogg

Class of 2021


Class of 2020


Class of 2019

Kevin Peterson

Class of 2018

Jeff Frey

Lizette Mitchell

Deanna Nordeen

Class of 2017

Adele Hartwick

Amanda McGrory

Doug Nelson

Class of 2016

Joe Hietala

Erik Nelson

Kraig Rudstrom

Class of 2015

Tim Hollis

John Kessler

Class of 2014

Scott Keenan

Class of 2013

Carol Gallinger

Mike Krois

Rudy Lundahl

Saul Mendoza

Class of 2012

City of Duluth

City of Two Harbors

Class of 2011

Ron Francisco

Steve Harrington

Ed Hermel

GB Leighton

Chelly Townsend

Class of 2010

477th Medical Company

Chuck & Sally Hegg

John Leppi

Bill & Nancy Olsen

Kevin Pates

Class of 2009

John Docter

Steve Greenfield

Kellie Luedloff

Bill Wenmark

Class of 2008

Sharon Buchanan

Jerry Frederick

Jeno Paulucci

Mary Spiering

Class of 2007

Neil Franz

Greg Haynes

Dale Kusnierek

Class of 2006

North Shore Striders

Class of 2005

Candy Furo

Taire (Lind) Suliin

Class of 2004

Don Fennessy

Gino & Kathy Goedel

Michael Pinocci

Class of 2003

Candace Cable

Ken & Mona Rae Cich

John Kulick

Class of 2002

Rick Jackson

Joe Johnson

John Naslund

James Nowak

Class of 2001

Brian Daugherty

Jan Ettle

Brian Larsen

Paul Van Winkel

Class of 2000

Joan Dahlstrom

Herb Dillon

Cindy Nelson

Mac Welles

Class of 1999

David Eckstrom

Doug Kurtis

Lorraine Moller

Tami Oothoudt

Class of 1998

Dick Beardsley

Peter Graves

Barney & Janis Klecker

Wen Shi Yu

Class of 1997

Gerald Church

Class of 1996

Andy Borg

Garry Bjorklund

George Fink

John Foschi

Mickey Paulucci

Alex Ratelle

Dorothy Spencer


Grandma’s Marathon began in 1977 when a group of local runners planned a scenic road race from Two Harbors to Duluth, Minnesota. After seeing just 150 participants that year, the race weekend has now grown into one of the largest in the United States and welcomes more than 20,000 participants for its three-race event each June.


The race got its name from the Duluth-based group of famous Grandma’s Restaurants, the first major sponsor of the marathon. In addition to the 26.2-mile race, the organization has now added the Garry Bjorklund Half Marathon and William A. Irvin 5K to its weekend offerings.

As the popularity of Grandma’s Marathon has grown, our mission has stayed the same – to organize, promote, and deliver annual events and programs that cultivate running, educational, social, and charitable opportunities to our communities.

Grandma’s Marathon-Duluth, Inc. is a 501(c)(3) tax-exempt nonprofit organization with a nine-person, full-time staff and a 17-member Board of Directors.