Entry to the Running USA Hall of Champions is reserved for those who with devotion, vision, and commitment built the sport and provided glory for the winners and a place to excel for everyone.

Each honoree has served with many years of dedication, imagination, distinction, courage, and selflessness. Each has made a contribution that has enhanced the sport, made it more compelling and rewarding, and this award acknowledges and recognizes their noteworthy contribution to the sport.

Twentieth Class 2024

Susan Harmeling (Gasparilla, Florida), Executive Director, Gasparilla Distance Classic

Vince Chiappetta (New York City, NY), Co-Founder, NYC Marathon

Nineteenth Class 2023

Ted Metellus (New York City, NY) Senior Vice President, Events, and Race Director, NYC Marathon

Lonnie Somers (Denver, CO) Co-owner, HAL Sports

Eighteenth Class 2022

Virginia Brophy Achman (Minneapolis, MN) Executive Director, Twin Cities in Motion

Rich Kenah (Atlanta, GA) CEO, Atlanta Track Club

2021: Event not held due to Covid

Seventeenth Class 2020
Michael Nishi 
(Chicago, IL) Executive vice president, business development and operations, Chicago Event Management
Alan Brookes (Toronto, Canada) Race director, Canada Running Series including Scotiabank Toronto Waterfront Marathon

Sixteenth Class 2019
Cliff Bosley
 (Boulder, CO) Race director, BOLDERBoulder
Jim Stasaitis (Utica, NY) Race director, Boilermarker Road Race

Fifteenth Class 2018

Iris Simpson Bush (Cincinnati, OH) Founder and CEO, Run Flying Pig

Fourteenth Class 2017

Don Kardong (Spokane, WA), Founder and Race Director, Bloomsday Run
Jack Staph (Cleveland, OH), Executive Director, Rite Aid Cleveland Marathon
Mike Reilly (San Diego, CA), Veteran announcer and the Voice of Ironman

Thirteenth Class 2016

Fred Lebow (New York, NY), Founder NYC Marathon, Founder of NYRR
Nancy Brinker (Washington, DC), Founder Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure

Twelfth Class 2015

Kathrine Switzer (New York/New Zealand), women’s running pioneer
Tracy Sundlun (San Diego, CA), SVP, Competitor Group, Founder of Rock ‘n’ Roll Marathon Series, Decorated Coach
Brant Kotch (Houston, TX) Director and CEO, Chevron Houston Marathon

Eleventh Class 2014

Jeff Galloway (Atlanta, GA), 1972 Olympian / author / speaker / founder of run-walk training program / pioneer
Scott Keenan (Duluth, MN), Co-founder of Grandma’s Marathon (1977) / long-time (and first) Grandma’s Marathon Executive Director (1977-2013) / leader

Tenth Class 2013

Ted Corbitt (New York, NY), 1952 Olympian / ultra record setter / developer of U.S. certified course system / founder / pioneer
Nina Kuscsik (Huntington Station, NY), first official Boston Marathon women’s champion / long-time USA Track & Field Women’s LDR Executive Committee member and Law & Legislation chair / advocate / pioneer

Ninth Class 2012

Joan Benoit Samuelson (Freeport, ME), 1984 Olympic Marathon champion / record setter / race founder / legend / ambassador

Eighth Class 2011

Dr. Ken Cooper (Dallas, TX), best-selling author / researcher / pioneer / “father of aerobics”
Creigh Kelley (Englewood, CO), race organizer / announcer / administrator / volunteer

Seventh Class 2010

Fred Finke (Longwood, FL), coach / internet pioneer / administrator
Ryan Lamppa (Santa Barbara, CA), Running USA, media / researcher / record keeper

Sixth Class 2009

Jon & Betsy Hughes (Orlando, FL), Track Shack / EMMI, event management
Rick Nealis (Quantico, VA), Marine Corps Marathon, race director
Carey Pinkowski (Chicago, IL), Chicago Marathon, race director
Toni Reavis (San Diego, CA), journalist / TV commentator

Fifth Class 2008

Anne Audain (Evansville, IN), Olympian, race founder and author
David Hannah (Houston, TX), Houston Marathon, race director
Basil & Linda Honikman (Ventura, CA), Running USA, administration, data collection and record keeping
Wally Kastner (Carmel, CA), Big Sur International Marathon, race director
Craig Masback (Indianapolis, IN), USATF CEO, administrator
Larry Rawson (New York, NY), media, TV commentator

Fourth Class 2007

Judy & Dennis Ikenberry (Rialto, CA), Race Central, timing
Alan Jones (Endwell, NY), RunTime Software, technology and application
Tom Raynor (Carrboro, NC), Fleet Feet, retail industry
Bart Yasso (Emmaus, PA), Runner’s World, race promotion / ambassador

Third Class 2006

Leslie Jordan (Portland, OR), Leslie Jordan, Inc., apparel
Carol Lasseter-Rice (Wilton, CT), Running Times, publisher
Guy Morse (Boston, MA), Boston Athletic Association, executive director
Bill Roe (Bellingham, WA), USATF President / Club Northwest, official / administrator
Allan Steinfeld (New York, NY), ING New York City Marathon / New York Road Runners, race director / administrator

Second Class 2005

Rich Benyo (Forestville, CA), Marathon & Beyond editor / Napa Valley Marathon race director
Jim Davis (Fairfield, IA), MarathonFoto founder
Julia Emmons (Atlanta, GA), Atlanta Track Club executive director / Peachtree Road Race race director
Ed Froehlich (Davenport, IA), Quad-City Times Bix 7 race director
Bob Larsen (Los Angeles, CA), UCLA, Olympic and Team Running USA coach
Dave McGillivray (North Andover, MA), Boston Marathon race director / DMSE

First Class 2004

Steve Bosley (Boulder, CO), Bolder Boulder 10K founder
Amby Burfoot (Emmaus, PA), Runner’s World executive editor
Mike Burns & David Simms (Ann Arbor, MI), Burns Computer Services and ChampionChip
Tim Murphy (San Diego, CA), Elite Racing president
Joe Vigil (Tucson, AZ), legendary distance coach (Adams State, Olympic and Team Running USA)