• Criteria have been met for 2023 race assessment
  • Sydney becomes first race to pass stage one assessment
  • Race must pass two consecutive assessments before admission to AbbottWMM
  • Six Star Medal to remain in place
  • New award program for further stars to be created

ABBOTT WORLD MARATHON MAJORS is delighted to announce that the Sydney Marathon will now proceed to the second stage of the candidacy process in its attempt to join the series.

The marathon was assessed in September 2023 and was judged to have met the criteria set out by Abbott World Marathon Majors in its second year of candidacy.

Sydney will now be required to meet the criteria for a second consecutive year when it stages its next marathon on September 15, 2024.

If it is successful, the race would join the Majors in 2025, becoming the first race added to the series since the induction of the Tokyo Marathon in 2013.

“Our assessment team found that the 2023 Sydney Marathon has made significant improvements in a number of areas where we required it to raise standards following its 2022 event,” said AbbottWMM CEO, Dawna Stone.

“The team was impressed with the efforts made to meet the criteria set out in the assessment process, and we now look forward to returning in 2024 for the next stage of their candidacy.”

The Sanlam Cape Town Marathon was also assessed in October 2023 – its second assessment year – and while it has not yet achieved a pass, the race was found to have made significant strides towards the standards set out in the assessment criteria. The race will continue its journey in the first stage of the process when the AbbottWMM assessment team visits the race again in October 2024.

The Chengdu Marathon also underwent assessment in October 2023, which was the team’s second opportunity to assess the event, and will also continue its stage one assessment journey in 2024 to achieve its first pass.

Abbott World Marathon Majors can also confirm that the current Six Star Finisher program will remain unaffected should new marathons join the series, and there will be a new additional

awards program for runners achieving more than six stars. Plans for this program will be finalised and announced in the second quarter of 2024.

Dawna Stone said: “We have been listening to our community and fully appreciate the huge appeal of the Six Star Medal. We are also aware of the tens of thousands of runners on their Six Star journey whose strong desire is for this goal to stay in place.

“We have therefore decided that this original award for completing all six current Abbott World Marathon Majors will continue.”


The Abbott World Marathon Majors (AbbottWMM) is a series of six of the largest and most renowned marathons in the world – Tokyo Marathon, B.A.A. Boston Marathon, TCS London Marathon, BMW BERLIN-MARATHON, Bank of America Chicago Marathon and TCS New York City Marathon.

Encompassing an annual series for elite runners and elite wheelchair athletes, AbbottWMM also applauds the achievements and passion of everyday champions from around the world. The AbbottWMM Six Star System is an online results hub that celebrates every runner who has completed from one to six of the races in the series and encourages them to ‘Reach for the Stars’.

The AbbottWMM Wanda Age Group World Rankings is the largest marathon series in the world, with over 350 events submitting results to rank runners globally against their age group peers. This culminates in the AbbottWMM Wanda Ag Group World Championships. The 2024 edition of the championships will take place within the 2024 Sydney Marathon.

The AbbottWMM Global Run Club brings together the global community of marathon runners on a virtual platform with monthly challenges across a range of distances.

For more information, visit www.Abbottwmm.com